Join Now
Skip to Main Content
Sam's Club
Sam's Club
All Departments
All Services
Customer reviews for Backyard Discovery 12' x 10' Brookdale Gazebo with PowerPort for
Backyard Discovery 12' x 10' Brookdale Gazebo with PowerPort
4.5 out of 5 stars
stars
473 ratings386 reviews
  1. 5 stars75% (354)
  2. 4 stars16% (74)
  3. 3 stars3% (12)
  4. 2 stars1% (4)
  5. 1 star6% (29)

Member photos

  • +234 images
Sort by |
Showing 1-10 of 386 reviews
Jul 24, 2020
Reviewer name: Alaina B
5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Definitely Worth it

We bought this to replace an older, cheaper metal gazebo. It arrived in 6 boxes. Everything was packed so there was no damage. Instructions were easy to follow. It took 2 people 10 hours to assemble. It is absolutely beautiful and we're very happy with it. Very sturdy and solid but a great price.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for your wonderful review, We are happy to hear that you are loving your new Brookdale Gazebo

Feb 29, 2020
Reviewer name: Jeff H
5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Great Product at a great price

I was impressed with the level of communication from the manufacturer and shipper. Arrived i day earlier than originally promised. I purchased the assembly option and they showed up right on time the next day. Really glad I had the professionals assemble, they did a great job and had it together in 6 hours. AS I watched them it became obvious that I would have encountered many challenges that would have lengthened my assembly time and trouble. I was pleased with the price of this cedar pergola, pleased with the quality, but a little concerned when some of the boxes were damaged in transit. Fortunately none of the components were damaged. We had some hardware issues that the company will send replacements and the installers put the drip guard on backwards but no problem. I was excited about the electrical feature until I looked at it closely, there is no on/off switch so in my case it is useless. I connect to an outside lite fixture that I installed a dimmer on that is controlled from inside the back door. I am really excited and pleased with product.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words, and wonderful review!

Jul 30, 2019
Reviewer name: gwen
5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Perfect Solution and Beautiful!

My husband and I went "round and round" whether or not to fully cover our SW facing, full-sun-deck, or not. A friend knew our dilemma and found this gazebo at Sams Club. We LOVE it! It looks great with our log home, and our SandCreek post-and-beam garage. Instead of centering under our peaked trapezoid window and deck patio doors....I shifted it more toward the west side of our deck. Perfect! We thought about getting the pergola that matches this, but found as the sun moves through the sky, it casts shade from the gazebo toward the uncovered part of the deck - where we would've put the pergola. (We still plan the pergola, but instead put it on the stone patio in "common area/fire pit area" between guest quarters and our home - simply because it also faces west, the construction is beautiful, and ambiance is so important for our family/friends!) With our gazebo, we are still able to have a part-sun deck, as well shade, during the hottest part of the day. I also separately purchased a sun shade (lanai) to attach and roll down when we are out for dinner on our deck during the evening hours while the sun is setting. The plug-in allows us to have lights, and fans (for keeping air circulation and bugs at bay!) . It gives our deck a new look....without spending thousands of dollars. I have been so happy! This is a must-have! We absolutely love it! :)

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for your 5-star review!

Jun 18, 2019
Reviewer name: CJE
5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Great Quality

Here are some helpful tips if you decide to purchase this: 1) Excellent quality gazebo aside from the fact that the 8" long bolts were very difficult to thread into the barrel nuts. If you can run them through a tap and die set prior to assembly, it would be of GREAT benefit to you. I did not have issues with the shorter bolts and they did not need to be cleaned with the tap/die. 2) Read your instructions VERY closely. It will make a difference regarding how your 6" posts are set up. They face only one way in order to screw in your supportive scallops. Also the cross beams that bolt into the main supportive metal plate and the 6" post go only one way. They have to be 25" from the end to that scallop. I hope that makes sense! 3) Be aware that if you have a few guys this will much of your weekend up! 4) Roofing: I found it MUCH easier to build the roof frame and then attach it to the gazebo and THEN place the metal roofing materials. They want you to build the whole thing in the ground, That is allot of weight to lift into place and also to try and insert the attaching bolts in the correct hole. Doing it my way also squired the roof frame up correctly which made a much nicer squaring of the roofing materials.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for your 5-star review!

Jun 8, 2019
Reviewer name: Shell4149
5 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Beautiful pence it’s assembled!

I gave it a 5 star because it is beautiful... BUT, it took a week to assemble and that’s with getting my neighbor to help put the roof on. Those that said Two people can do this are lying! You have to assemble the roof and then lift it to be screwed down to the gazebo. Two men cannot do this alone. I wish I would have paid for the installation but I read the reviews and thought it would be a project we could handle. Now that it’s complete and we added string lights and furniture, I am finally enjoying it. It’s beautiful! I want to seal it with a wood treatment and make sure it’s bolted down for storms.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for your 5 star review!

Jun 3, 2019
Reviewer name: PENNI
4 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Well built

Manufacturer spent a lot of time pre-drilling holes and going the extra mile to make assembly easy, they marked the bags very clearly and used quality parts for construction. Then they failed to add the details concerning positioning of the predrilled components for assembly, added several hours to assembly that could have been avoided. Definitely a two person job to assemble properly, but is a great product when completed. I would buy again.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for taking time to leave of us a review!

Aug 3, 2020
Reviewer name: Alan
4 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Great product! Time to enjoy our backyard!!

Great product, surprisingly all the holes lined up properly making the project a breeze with an exception to one warp board that added some additional time to align and attach the roof. We took our time with the installation, started with staining all the boards then the actual build took 2 separate days...in all probably took us 10-12 hours, no mistakes and no corners cut! I can't emphasize enough, take your time and make sure the piece are facing the proper way (watch for the holes) . We made that mistake a few times!! The structure seems to be soundly stable, while I saw some review that mentioned all the pieces are solid wood, the 6x6 are not actual solid pieces, they are 4x4 pressed with 4 other pieces. At this time, I can only give a review about the build and not the long longevity... perhaps I can revisit in 6m/1y to give another update. Would definitely buy again!!

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for your review

Feb 25, 2019
Reviewer name: Done1
2 out of 5 stars
2 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Flawed Design

Positives are its attractiveness and sturdiness. Numerous cons in the design, however. The wood is not treated, and you are cautioned to seal it, which I have done. The gable ends are open which adds to its attractiveness. However, they also allow the sun and rain to both invade the entire area underneath. I am currently installing some sunshade panels to help with this problem. The metal roof does not overhang the gable ends, but rather the sheathing boards to which the metal roof is attached butt up to the inside of the outer rafters. However, the metal roof does not extend to the edges of the sheathing boards, thus leaving gaps for water to seep in and collect, increasing the possibility of rotted boards in the future. The bolts and barrel nuts used to put this together are poor quality. Between the burrs left on them from machining and the paint, I had to use oil and work the bolts on and off the nuts numerous times before actually using them on the gazebo.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

Thank you for your comment. We value customer feedback like this because it helps us improve the quality of our product and services.

Jun 13, 2019
Reviewer name: Larrya
1 out of 5 stars
1 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Gazebo build

This gazebo is a nightmare to assemble! Holes don't line up,had to drill out so bolt would fit. This is why engineers in CHINA should not be designing Gazebo's.The only good thing are the downloaded instructions.If you purchase this gazebo,BE AWARE!

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from BYDSales

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our product please call us at 800-846-4445

Dec 13, 2020
Reviewer name: Sandy
1 out of 5 stars
1 out of 5 stars review

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

I was excited about this purchase but after I got it and looked over the directions I realized it’s not really 12’ wide. It’s less than 10’ wide. The roof comes out 12’ to qualify it as 12’, but the inside sitting area is less that 10’. That means it would have to be installed on my flagstone patio. The flagstone would not be strong enough. Therefore I am sending it back Another thing I didn’t like was the four post holding gazebo up are not solid 6” posts. It is 4 pieces of wood made into a square and bolted to concrete pad.

Helpful?6TBA8HG47YPZ13865971249
reply from Supplier Response

Thank you for your review! We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the product and are here to answer any questions or assist you in any way possible. We are saddened to hear that you had to return the product, but if there is anything we can do for you, you may reach our Customer Advocate Department at 800-856-4445.